http://web.ebscohost.com/ehost/detail?vid=18&hid=24&sid=cb969fe8-a402-4be5-9f3f-136db4c8bfa2%40sessionmgr114&bdata=JnNpdGU9ZWhvc3QtbGl2ZQ%3d%3d#db=aph&AN=9607250161


Click on the link above and read the article about the purpose theater (or theatre) has for our world and your (or our) generation. There are some paragraphs that primarily discuss Children's theater. Do not focus on those. Instead focus on the text that helps you best answer the questions in the two paragraphs below. 

The author claims that "Each medium (theater and film) clearly has its virtues, but, just as clearly, they are different virtues. Film is better at doing for. But theatre, in imaginative hands, is better at doing with: calling up, exercising, and, ideally, extending the imaginations of the children (students) in the audience." How has reading and discussing the play in class allowed you to exercise your ability to analyze the play?


Also, list one advantage that reading has over film and one that film has over reading. Explain your answer. 

Due September 6th
alexis griffith
9/2/2011 04:49:01 am

i belive reading the play helps visiualize the play really going opn in your hea. by watching the movie you normally get the deer in the headlights look, it goes in 1 ear out the other. i belive that the movie isnt as educational its just a way for you to feel like your not at school.i think that by reading the play one can feel as if thay are the careacters and not just watching them. i like the play better i think its a better analization of the crucible.

Reply
9/2/2011 04:58:56 am

discussing the play and watching the movie was very good. it let me understand the play. but when reading it ;the play was very hard to visualize. analying the play was very easy, i found key points to keep in mine while reading it. that's why when the end of the movie came i knew what john proctor was going to do. as for me i wish he would've live.

the advantage reading has over film is that you get all the real parts and don't get left out. while watching the film you get to see all the parts you want and don't have to worry about the middle parts. but when you do you sometimes miss the very important points.

Reply
Willie Barham
9/3/2011 02:21:26 am

Both movie and play was good but I guess not much people got imagination to help them watch plays or while reading a book. I mean movies are go but it also cutoff alot of stuff out if the movie is base on a book. As for reading the play, you dont have the visualize of time and place but your imagination goes along way during that reading time.

so either way you got the pros and cons, while movies you get more emotion becaues you get to see thier experssion but it cutoff, and thats what they did in the crucible. At least in books you get all the fact the story as to affored.

Reply
Sydney Haynes
9/3/2011 04:38:49 am

(I cannot get the link to work, so I'm doing this off the top of my head.)
(:

Reading and discussing the play aloud in class helped me to better understand all the events. I liked being able to listen to class discussions about the play.

I definitely liked reading the play better than I liked the movie, but they both had strong points. The play I thought did an excellent job at making you see the story in your head. It gave lots of detail and left some for your imagination. The film did a good job on portraying the events so you can maybe understand everything a little bit more clear.

Reply
Tilden Cross 6th
9/5/2011 03:21:45 am

I also couldn't get the link to work.
Reading the play helped me understand it better. Some parts made more sense after I heard the discussions in class. I would have found the play boring if I read it by myself. I probably would have missed the plot.
Watching the movie was better to me because it was more entertaining. However, it took the class discussions to understand it in a deeper way.

Reply
zack ledford
9/5/2011 04:43:29 am

ditto on the link to work thing.
Both reading the play and watching the film helped me out. Like Tilden Cross said, i liked the fact that when we read the book you would explain things to me but on the other hand i really liked the film. The reason for this is cause it gives me a better vision on the people and there life styles they lived in which helped me understand there personalities way more then before.

Reply
Sara McDonald
9/5/2011 04:46:31 am

I couldnt get the link as well.
I think that watching the movie and reading the play were about the same. The play let you hear what they were saying as you tried to picture it in your head. But when you watched the movie, you could see everyone and their expressions when a character spoke. But when i watched the movie, i understanded it more than what i would if we would've only read the book.

Reply
zack ledford
9/5/2011 04:48:36 am

but the one thing i liked about the reading is it made us have to vision it our self and giving each and everyone of us different view points then one another. The thing i liked about the reading is it just seemed to flow better then the book, plus more scenes were added that made it more interesting (for example the part where Abigail visits John Proctor in his jail cell.)

Reply
Emily Kendall
9/5/2011 06:15:55 am

I think that analyzing it and reading it in class made me understand it more, but watching the movie helped me see what things looked like and get the actual feel of it. We can benefit from both reading and watching the movie. Reading gives more detail and gives you time to think about things after they happen instead of skipping on to something else like the move.
Oh yeah, I couldn't get the link to work either. Sorry.

Reply
Shane s
9/5/2011 06:29:13 am

Having reading and discussing the play had help make you understand more and help you get some key points. I think reading the play was alot harder to understand then the movie because sometimes there are so many things going on at once that you can't really follow. The movies shows who's speaking and you are able to understand what each scene is like. The movie had made more sence and was alot easier to follow.

Reply
Marisa Coronado
9/5/2011 07:16:46 am

I cannot get the link to come up. But I think, reading it out loud just showed how it was laid out. I personally, like the movie alot better because it actually gave me a visual picture of how each one of the actors showed their expressions. The movie was just a lot easier to follow on who was who and how they reacted.

Reply
Maggie Tighe
9/5/2011 10:25:16 am

Reading the story was hard to understand because some parts kind of confused me of what what happening. The movie showed me a visual image and had alot more detail. It helped me better understand and follow what was happening. When I see things visually, it all clicks.

Reply
Floraine Macam
9/5/2011 10:57:36 am

(I could not open the link.) I understood the play a lot better by reading and discussing it in class. I was not only able to see and understand it from my own perspective but discussing it in class pointed out others perspective as well. This helped me understand the play a lot more. My only problem in reading the play is that I wasn’t able to remember some of the characters because I could not visualize and remember them well. Sometimes I would get confused of which character was which and that kind of confused some parts of the play for me. However, I still liked reading the play over watching it because I didn’t understand some of the character’s lines in the movie. But because we read the play I still knew what was going on. Also, the written play had more explanations and details of the events and descriptions of what the characters were doing. The movie was somewhat helpful because I could easily identify the characters and it provided more of a visual picture and that was really helpful. I think that both ways are great and they both have their own disadvantages and advantages however, I still preferred reading the play over watching. (7th PERIOD)

Reply
Heather Gayhart
9/5/2011 12:30:45 pm

*Link didn't work.

Reading the play out loud in class and talking about it helped me understand it better.

Reading the play helped me understand some of the lines better in the movie and it went into more detail than the movie did.

The movie helped me a lot too because being able to see something makes me understand whats going on and it gives me a better idea of how things were.

Reply
Sabrina Maruszewski
9/5/2011 10:43:21 pm

Some advantages in having movies is that you can keep and watch them over and over again. Plays you get to understand more that in there. I think that reading the play was better than watching the movie. Yes the movie did help me get an idea on things that was going on and being able to see that helped, but there was more in the play that wasnt in the movie. It describes alot that had happen, in the movie it skipped what i thinks were the important parts that needed to be in there.

Reply
Evan Kenealy
9/5/2011 11:58:57 pm

The person I choose for the story is Reverend Hale. Reverend Hale was called in to help with the witch problem. The first clue that I picked has the bible. The reason behind that is pretty easy to get. Reverend Hale is a man of god. There for he is a regions man. That means he would have a bible with him most of the time.
The second thing is someone hitting away at a rock. The reason behind that he kept on asking and asking his question until he got an answer that he wanted. The person hitting the rock keeps hitting and hitting the rock over and over again until he gets through the rock. The next thing is a cop. He has a lot of power. Back then the Church’s had a lot of power. So pretty much whatever he said went. Respect is a really good one. That means people listen to what he had to say. The last one is fishing. Whenever you go fishing you have to be patients to fish. Because it might take awhile to catch the fish you wanted. And Reverend Hale has a lot of patients.

Reply
Michael Heath
9/6/2011 12:05:41 am

Watching the movie and reading the book helped me understand The Crucible alot better. I didn't understand the book at all because i found it very boring. But i found the movie really good and entertaining. So i understood it alot better. If we didn't watch the movie at all, i wouldn't understand anything that we read.

Reply
Adam Kaiser
9/6/2011 12:17:26 am

Reading in class helped me picture the setting in the book at certian points. Also if i was stuck and didnt know what something meant i could ask and find out. Reading gives more details than movies do. It also gives a better description of the characters. However Theater gives a visual. Visual helps understand what is going on. Me personly, i have trubble remebering what i read so if i watch it it is easier because there is a visual.

Reply
Alec Mielke
9/6/2011 03:08:17 am

To me reading the play isnt as good as listening to it, because i get a feel better for the dramatic parts the yelling and all that stuff. Watching the movie is better after I read the play or hear the play or listen to it. Theater gives a more realistic visual. Visual helps understan whats going on and how the recations may really be.

Reply
chelsi ashbaugh
9/6/2011 04:40:33 am

Reading the play helped me visualize more and understand more because its like your there. The movie does also help visualize but the book gives a better explanation and helped me understand more. Watching the movie helps better than reading because you see the characters and you know whats going on better. Sometimes reading gets confusing and you need a visualization of the actual thing in front of you. But i agree that the reading is better because it gives more detail and explanation.

Reply
Jimmy Harrington 7th
9/6/2011 04:49:26 am

Discussing this play has helped me have a better perspective about it. like going deeper than just reading. We're able to discuss these things and analyze things that we don't read in the play.

One advantage reading has over film is that we are able to just have the original feeling of what the author wanted us to visualize. An advantage that film has over the play is that we can see how the actors would show their reactions to everything that happens. we can actually see the setting and what people dressed like and stuff like that.

Reply
brieaunna deckard
9/6/2011 04:55:19 am

Discussing the play helps me understand what the play means.
One advantage of reading over watchin a film is? Reading it you can use your inagination.
One advantage of watchin the film over reading is? It explain it more. And i got too see what was really going on in the film

Reply
Bryce Vittitoe (3rd)
9/6/2011 06:11:03 am

* link didnt work.

it lets me understand what there saying and why they did the things they did.

Reading: i can understand the "language" better.

Film: it helps me understand the characters better and there personalities.

Reply
Jamie Edsell
9/6/2011 06:26:49 am

watching the movie helped me understand the play better. when we discuss the play in class it also helps me understand it more.

Reply
Travis Desrochers
9/6/2011 06:44:36 am

I couldn't get the link to pull up also, but i like watching the movie better. I found it more entertaining than reading it. Watching it showed me things i wouldnt see reading it, like the actions, what each person looked like and so on. I liked that we read together as a class and discussed what was going on, but i couldn't read it by myself.

Reply
Viola Zimmerman
9/6/2011 07:36:45 am

The link wouldnt work for me but i very much like being able to read first then watch the movie because when you read first and you miss something the movie will explain it and make it easier to understand.
Also its nice to know ahead of the time what character is what. But i would say that readings advantage would be exercising your brain; while films are not only funnier and easier but there also take less time.

Reply
stephanie holt
9/6/2011 07:47:05 am

(i cant get the link to work)
i think reading the play, was okay.
personally i think watching the movie was more helpful to me. reading i didnt really understand, watching and seeing things i learn better. but the movie really did help me understand the play better, if we didnt watch the movie i would have probably not understood it that much. also i liked how we discussed things as a class and went more in detail talking about it.
p.s. for the other ROW i just did, cause i was missing them.

Reply
justin meredith 6th
9/6/2011 07:49:45 am

discussing the play and watching the movie was very good. it let me understand the play. but when reading it ;the play was very hard to visualize. analying the play was very easy, i found key points to keep in mine while reading it. that's why when the end of the movie came i knew what john proctor was going to do.

Reply
Natalie Redmon
9/6/2011 08:04:20 am

I was not able to access the link.
When reading a play in class, you are able to analyze and really think about what's going on. How we talked about what happened in the play during class really helped. However, when we were watching the film, I was able to visualize and grasp what was really going on. This is one advantage of a film. The play however, let's you read and understand what is going on and why. The plays also doesn't leave any details out like movies often do.

Reply
Chad Lancaster
9/6/2011 09:13:00 am

One advantage of reading the play was that you could tell that there was a lot going on more than in the movie. You can't always catch the little details in movies like you can while reading a play. One advantage of watching the movie is that i'm more of a visual learner and it helps me more if i see something rather than reading it.

(Couldn't get the link to work)

Reply
Ashley Carrier
9/6/2011 09:25:39 am

Reading the play and watching it were both good. Reading the play was harder though because everyday unless we were using the tape, every actor had a different voice. The tape was to much to keep up with, it skipped around to much. Watching the play was a whole lot easier and better because I'm a visual learner. Now that we've discussed the play as a class, I understand it a whole lot better.

Reply
Alexis Simmons
9/6/2011 10:07:56 am

Reading the play was very hard. Switching from one person to another was very hard, or you just couldn't hear them. Watching the play was so much better. I could understand what was going on better. I'm a visual learner, i understand if it was a video or movie

Reply
Natalie Heibert
9/6/2011 11:00:31 am

I also could not get the link to work. Sorry!
Reading the play and discussing it as a class helped me to know how to analyze pieces of literature and helped me understand the play better.
One advantage that reading the play has over watching the film is that there is a lot more detail. In the film, they leave out a lot of events that happened in the play and the events that happened are not as detailed. One advantage that watching the film has is that for visual learners, it helps them understand better. Sometimes people can't grasp the meaning and understand it as well if they're just reading it.

Reply
Annie Sanders 5th
9/6/2011 11:30:54 am

The link didn't work for me, either.
When we discussed the play as we were reading it, the discussions helped me understand what was going on. It also helped me think between the lines, and understand the others points of view better. An advantage reading the play has over watching the film is there are more details, and other scenes in the background. The film leaves out many lines and some events in the written play. When watching the film, you actually see it and understand the characters more. It helps the visual learners, like me, a lot better.

Reply
Evan Kenealy
9/6/2011 11:44:24 am

I couldn't get the link to work.

Reply
Patrick Herman
9/6/2011 01:42:46 pm

reading the play is somewhat better because it gives you more detail in whats going on even though you have to picture it in your head. Now watching the movie you actually know whats going on instead of having to visualize it but the movie also either adds details that weren't in the book or they take a lot away so i think its better to read and discuss because you get a lot more about whats going on in the play.

Reply
Tiffany Mullins
9/6/2011 08:41:09 pm

*Link would not work.*
I really liked both of them but there are some reasons that I like one over another.
Advantages: Reading: It lets me use my imagination to help me understand it better in my mind. Movie: I really liked the movie better because I am more of a picture person it helps me understands things better.
Disadvantages: Reading:You have to picture it your self and you could get things wrong and think of some things in a different way than they are portrayed Movie: The movie doesn't show as much as the book reads so it's hard to understand whats going on if they skip some parts.
(5th Period)

Reply
jacob farmer 5th
9/6/2011 10:39:15 pm

When we discuss the play in class, i get to hear everyone elses ideas and thoughts about it. It lets me see more of what they think and their point of view on the story. I like that, because it helps me know and find out what i feel/think. Other peoples opinions can also alter/influence mine, but it still is what i think of it; it opens my eyes more.

One advantage of reading over the movie is that the reading gives you more detail by giving you words to analyze. It goes into a deeper depth that what you and get from anything else.
An advantage of the movie over the reading is that you get a visual experience that you don't have to picture yourself. More people learn visualy than anything. The movie puts your ideas of the reading in a whole different light, and can change your opinions of a character(good OR bad).

Reply
Brad Sonner
9/6/2011 11:21:21 pm

Watching the movie helped me more because you can see what is going on more than just sitting there reading what people are doing.

Reply
chris hayes
9/7/2011 12:10:39 am

i think watching the movie is better then talking about it because you can see the charectors and see the play in action.

1 advantage about reading the play is you might have better thought and think about the charectors motives.
unlike the movie you just watch and look at the charectos

1 advantage for watching the film is that it gives a a visual of all the charectors and you can see how they act. i think its better the watch the film

Reply
Austin lancaster
9/7/2011 12:12:48 am

Text could be better cause you are seeing in on paper and have all the text. But film could be better cause you are hearing all the other voices and seeing it acted out and where the people are.

Reply
trey fout
9/7/2011 12:12:58 am

Some advantages in having movies is that you can keep and watch them over and over again. Plays you get to understand more that in there. I think that reading the play was better than watching the movie. Yes the movie did help me get an idea on things that was going on and being able to see that helped, but there was more in the play that wasnt in the movie. It describes alot that had happen, in the movie it skipped what i thinks were the important parts that needed to be in there.

Reply
jeffie medley
9/7/2011 01:44:54 am

I think reading lets you visualize the scene and allows you to have your own perspective on everything. The movie however helps one to understand certain things because they can actually see to make sense of it.

Reply
Craig Decker 7th period
9/7/2011 01:53:14 am

I thank win you reade something you can fill it and see what you are reading and thank of what is happing wile you read but win you watch it you can see what is going on and hear it.

Reply
Logan Mahoney
9/7/2011 02:54:05 am

Reading the play allows you to picture what's going on in your head , which makes it seem alot more real , however watching the movie shows the expressions and reactions of the characters when the events are going on which may help you strongly understand the characters perspective on witchcraft and what is going on more.

Reply
Jerrie Shamblin 7th Period
9/7/2011 03:02:03 am

Reading and discussing the play in class has allowed me to exercise mt ability to analyze the play by being able to verbally hear what is going on and being able to discuss the issues. it also helps to know wh at other students think about the topic we are discussing in class.

Reply
Sean Adkins
9/7/2011 03:05:21 am

i think htat if you were to watch a play and read a book you would get more information and important things acted out to you in a play instead of figuring out what the author is trying to explain

Reply
Nathan Turner
9/7/2011 03:49:24 am

Readin thepassage was a challange. it was alot better in the movie. some of my thoughts of the readin were changed after seein the movie

Reply
Alannah Allen
9/7/2011 03:53:02 am

Since we discuss the play in class, it helps some students understand the concept of the dialoge. If someone were to read it on their own they may not be able to grasp the full effect of the play itself. The movie offers a whole new experience for those who may not have an imagination, or may not understand when reading the script.

Reply
Dallas Allen
9/7/2011 07:41:44 am

Link does not work.

When we read and discussed having my own visual on what was happening in the play, and when discussing, I liked having my own opinions and seeing how everyone elses opinions matched up.

One advantage reading has over film is that you get more detail. You can get more of a characters thoughts and see deeper into their personalities. One advantage watching it has is that it can give you a visual of whats going on.

Reply
Morgan Moody
9/7/2011 08:56:48 am

By reading the play and discussing it in class it helped me analyze the play better in many different ways. Mainly, it helped me by, one, i could see the stage directions so i knew what the writer was trying to get across, and two, i could hear other people opinions on actions made by characters so it made me think more to get to my opinion about the character themselves.

One thing reading has over the film is that i can make my own "movie" in my head. So i had more room for creativity and could see the characters as many different people.
One thing film has over reading is you get to see nonverbal communication. Also all a movie really is, is another persons, producers, version of how they pertrayed the book. So in away it shows me another persons perspective of the characters.

Reply
Kiana Hesse
9/7/2011 10:22:11 am

Reading and discussing the play in class helped me analyze the play better because I heard other peoples opinions on what was going on instead of just mine. The thoughts that people were sharing made me think more into the play.

An advantage that reading has over the film is that you can reread it if you dont understand what is going on, and its in writing so its easier to go back and look at something if you missed it the first time.

An advantage that the film has over reading is that you can actually see the characters reactions and kind of feel the emotion better. Its also easier to hear all of the characters and pay better attention to who is speaking and acting out.

Reply
Gabbie Brooking
9/8/2011 06:07:39 am

The link wouldnt work for me either. I liked reading the play but i also like watching the movie,as i read the play i could get a visual picture of what was going on then watching the movie made it very claear on what was happening. One advantage to reading the play was you got all the stage directions and you can sort of use your imagination and think about what might be going on.

Reply
Dalila Rios
9/8/2011 06:20:45 am

Reading the play and discussing it afterwards help me analyze it better because the things people were saying that they saw from their perspective, helped me to not change my opinion (sometimes), but see it at a different point of view (many point of views) rather than just seeing mine. What others had to say or thought of the play, helped me look at different views and helped me analyze the characters better. One advantage reading has over the film is if you don't fully understand what the character's are doing or what the movie is about, you can always go back to the book and read it (word by word) so you can see it through text than seeing it visually. One advantage the film has over reading is you can see the characters and storyline come to life rather seeing it in your mind. You can see the characters motives and everything else that their trying to do in the story. Plus the storyline in the film helps people understand it more and helps them pay attention better.

Reply
Mitchell Drury 7th
9/20/2011 11:56:38 am

I think watching the movie was alot easier to understand what was going on. Reading it you pretty much have to visualize how its laid out, the movie actually showed you the actors expressions. Personally, im better at understanding things by watching them and actually seeing whats going on, but when we read somthing out loud or even if i reasd something by myself it just goes in one ear and out the other.

Reply
Dustin Wilkerson 7th
9/23/2011 04:57:51 am

Text could be better cause you are seeing it on paper and have all the text to go back over it and re read it. But film could be better cause you are hearing all the other voices and seeing it acted out and where the people are and see there reactions.

Reply
Nathan Popham
9/29/2011 07:00:51 am

When i read, i have a play going through my head so when i see the film it just brings about this whole new story and that's what happened for me. i was really surprised that in the film the kids were childish and i really got that in the film they where more villianous. Im just a visual guy myself, so i just basically agreed with every one on here.

Reply
Becca Short 6th prd
10/13/2011 06:50:58 am

In my opinion watching a movie is a whole lot easier than reading a book. When i read something i have a hard time comprehending what it says but when visually seeing what its saying helps a lot. Its like when I read the play nothing stuck but the exciting parts and when I watched the movie everything stuck. In the play you get to express your imagination and in the movie it shows what actually goes on. Reading the play in class helped a lot because if I had to read it myself it would of just never happened.

Reply
1/25/2012 07:02:01 pm

THX for info

Reply
1/27/2012 07:37:03 am

Nice one info, thanks

Reply
3/22/2012 05:51:47 am

is before long

Reply
3/23/2012 02:34:37 am

will be restored quickly

Reply
3/31/2012 01:55:29 pm

Nice article dude

Reply
8/8/2012 12:48:53 am

good post

Reply



Leave a Reply.