After reading the Preamble and Bill of Rights, which right do you find the most important to you at this point in your life? How are your rights different of that of adults (if at all)? 

This post is different than ones before it. You must not only respond to the questions I have posted, but you must react to your fellow students. You may agree, disagree, or question their argument. If you post first, you will respond later. 

I will be contributing to the discussion, so if I am the last person before you post, respond to me. 

Due: September 20th 
Zach Deckard
9/13/2011 10:32:28 pm

I think the most important right is "the right to search and seizure rgulated." I think this one is the most important right because it allows the goverment not to be able to go through your personal information. Ex: The goverment cant read any text messages you've sent, they cant invade your house if they feel like it, they cant search your car if its on your property. Things like that. But if the goverment has a search warrant. They're allowd to search your house. Also they cant just randomly search your car if they pull you over. The police have to have a reasonable cause.

Reply
Annie Sanders 5th
9/14/2011 09:20:12 am

I think that the freedom of speech is the most important right in my life at this point. I can state my opinion about anything, but there are limits. But, just like me, adults have limits as well. I believe that everyone has the same rights, although adults may get away with more.
I agree with Zach about "the right of search and seizure regulated". That's a very important right because we need our privacy. Only if someone has a search warrant, we can get searched, and the police have to have a reasonable cause. However, he didn't add if rights of adults and people our age are different.

Reply
chris hayes
9/14/2011 10:05:45 pm

i thnk the most important right for me right now would be freedom of speech because as a teen i need to speak my mind and what i think. but really i dont pay attention to my rights... i agree with annie because the freedom of speech is the most important right and speaking your opinion about anything.

Reply
Shane S.
9/14/2011 10:33:45 pm

The most important right in my current life is freedom of speech because were really to young to have any of the other rights affect us. The rights between the adults and teens are the same, the rights can affect teens but more then likly it wont because we just starting out and can't really do anything. I agree with Chris, at this point in our lives the other rights don't really affect us as much as an adult.

Reply
Sean Adkins
9/15/2011 03:06:58 am

^....i didt think of that... a lot of the amendments wouldnt really affect us at our early age. Freedom of speech is also quite important to me also. As a teen i have lots of thoughts about things and can express them as i feel nessesary, to an extent.

Reply
Jacob Stull
9/15/2011 03:16:01 am

In my opnion, the freedom of speech is most important to me at this point in my life. I think that aldults don't have more right, they just get any with more inside of those right; and they dont have as many rules.

Reply
kaisy able-ditto 7th
9/15/2011 04:43:57 am

the right that stands out to me more is the right to plea the 5th amendment. without this right when we go into court and the judge ask us questions what is there to do? we must answer it truthfully or we automatically go to jail for not answering the question.but since we have this right we can't incrimnate ourseleves if the answer will make us look more gulity. so as for me this right is the most important.

Reply
evan taylor
9/15/2011 04:53:54 am

the most important right to me is freedom of speech because as a united states citizen i should be able to say what i want, when i want, and i want with no problem if its not unconstutitional....

Reply
Viola Zimmerman
9/15/2011 08:21:55 am

To me my favorite one is freedom of religion. All my life ive struggled with what i believe and disagree and personally i dont think i would have lasted long back in them days. Honestly i dont believe our rights are much different other then the right to vote but thats only because were to young.
And i agree with Evan.

Reply
Sara McDonald
9/15/2011 09:40:20 am

The most important amendent to me is freedom of speech. I think of it as the best one because anyone should be able to speak their own opinion. Which makes me think of this assignment since we are all stating our own opinions.
I agree with Viola and Evan. Our rights arent too much different than adults.

Reply
Dustin wilkerson
9/15/2011 09:51:04 am

To be honest I think there's a couple of major rights that i thinks that are very important. One of the rights is freedom of speech an I agree with Evan cause you should be able to say what you want when you want. Another important right is right to bear arms. I think that this is probably the most important one cause you should be able to own weapons to protect yourself in this day and time.

Reply
Ms. Thomas
9/15/2011 10:28:42 am

Good work so far, everyone. Make sure you are still responding to the people who spoke before you.

As for me, I agree a lot with Viola about freedom of religion. Imagine if the people of Salem had this right. The Crucible wouldn't be half as interesting if that were the case. I must say, I personally disagree with Dustin about the right to bear arms. That has never seemed important to me. However, those who are focusing on the first amendment, I am in total agreement with you. I think it is a right that you and I share equally at this point.

Reply
Michael Heath
9/15/2011 10:37:06 pm

I think that the Right to Bear Arms is the most important one because it allows you to protect yourself. This is the best one because if somebody is trying to treaten me, i have the right to protect myself without getting in trouble.

Reply
Kayla gosling
9/16/2011 12:01:05 am

i think the one right that is most important is the right to free speech. We should be able to speak our minds but to an extent. We need to be able to speak of our feelings and what we are dealing with at this point in our lives. Adults have a more of a right to speak what they feel because sometimes when we tell them what we fell they believe we are talking back so they tell us to shutup and we feel like we have to keep everything to ourselves so we sometimes go to extremes and some kill. The reason why is they just needed someone to talk to!!!

Reply
Natalie Heibert
9/16/2011 03:04:42 am

I think the most important right at this point in my life is freedom of speech. I think this because I feel that it's really important that I am able to speak my mind and say what I want without getting in trouble. However, there are limits. I think the limits are important too because there are just some things that should not be said.

Reply
Chad Lancaster
9/16/2011 03:10:55 am

I believe that freedom of religion is probably the most important freedom to me. This is because every religion has a different set of rituals and i wouldn't want to follow or act like i believe in something that i really don't. Natalie, i somewhat agree with you but i also do not because i dont believe that in this point in time that i really have much to say that will make a difference on any important subjects.

Reply
craig decker 7th
9/16/2011 04:54:56 am

the rights to bear arms because that a way we have the rights to shoot guns anytime we want as long as we ant in the city limits. no matter what time of the day it is you have the rights to shoot your own gun.

Reply
dustin snyder 7
9/16/2011 04:55:21 am

i think that the freedom of speech right is the most important because i like to be able to say what ever i want when ever i want without getting in trouble

Reply
Chelsi Ashbaugh
9/16/2011 04:57:56 am

I think that the right to search and seizure is the most important to me because i think its unfair to have someone just be able to walk in your house or go through your belongings without a good reason. Your own personal business is yours and the government shouldnt take that away. Dustin, i do agree with you also, freedom of speech is very important but it only goes so far. Its a limited freedom of speech.

Reply
Destiny Timmons
9/16/2011 11:58:54 pm

I also agree with Chelsi that the right to search and seizure is the most important to me. Of course the other bill of rights is just as important, but it would make me mad the worst for someone to just barge into my house and look through all the stuff I had in it without a reasonalble cause.

Reply
Ms. Thomas
9/18/2011 01:46:37 am

Good work so far. Be careful when reading the actual words of the Bill of Rights. Particularly when it comes to the 2nd Amendment. I think the people voting for freedom of speech are still making the best argument thus far.

Reply
Willie B.
9/18/2011 02:52:00 am

Most of all the right are important but I got go with speech becaues thats how we became this great country. If we never have this right alot of ideas and expression would never been revealed to improve our national such as the civil war which had our own people speak out against slavery.
I also agree with viola becaues religion is important that effected alot a people thourgh out history. Thanks to our rights that we have freedom in those things.

Reply
Sydney Haynes (5th)
9/18/2011 03:00:52 am

The most important amendments to me are freedom of speech and freedom of religion. Living in America gives us these rights that lot of countries don't have. I think we as teens, and as adults, take our rights for granted and these are two we should really appreciate. Everyone wants their voice to be heard and to be able to believe whatever they want.
I agree with Natalie about there being limits on the things we should say and I agree with Chad about the religion.

Reply
Heather Gayhart
9/18/2011 03:35:12 am

I think they're all really important but the one thats most important to me in my life right now is the right to no cruel or unusual punishments. I think freedom of speech is another important one but it can only reach a certain limit on things you can do/say and I think you still get in trouble for a lot of things said. I picked no cruel or unusual punishments because being hung, stoned or burned alive in public is really harsh and we make mistakes everyday especially when we're young and careless. If it was still like it was in the Crucible then a lot of people today in the states would be hung or stoned like they do in other countries. Adults get more of a punishment when they make mistakes cause I guess people frown more upon them since they should know whats right and whats wrong.

Reply
Morgan Moody
9/19/2011 03:49:01 am

I completely agree with Heather about the whole no cruel or unusual punishment, and that adults receive more of a punishment then kids because they have had longer to learn what they should or shouldn't do or say. Also, alot of people think that we don't get our rights until we reach the age of 18, at least my mother does. But it states that we are born with these rights so we do have them. Personally, I think the most important amendment would probably be the first amendment. They are all very important but this one i feel i use more. As a junior in high school, we are becoming young adults and are just now really getting into the whole our freedoms things. As kids we didn't really completely get and understand that the freedom of speech, religion, press, assembly, and petition are denied to many people in country all over the world. Alot of people take for granted the most basic amendment, the one we use everyday. So as young adults we are dipping our toes in the water of your giving rights and this is the first and most useful one we learn about. Yes there are restrictions, but if there weren't any then people could abuse the right and get it took from us all. This is why i think that the first amendment is the most important.

Reply
Alexis Simmons
9/19/2011 09:09:57 am

I agree with Morgan. I agree the first amendment is very important. A lot of people do take the first amendment for granted. Yes we all have the right to say what we want to say, but their are somethings that shouldn't be said and should be kept to their self. I do believe the first amendment is very important, because if we didn't have it today, we wouldn't be able to say what we want to say without it being bad, being apart of a religion that they want to be apart of. Thats the first amendment is important to me.

Reply
Tilden Cross
9/19/2011 10:44:23 am

To me freedom of religion is most important. I think if we didn't have this then we would be forced to be part of a religion that we wouldn't want to be part of. We wouldn't be able to make a decision whether we want to even be part of a religion. To me I want to be able to go to church and not have to worry about people coming in and killing us because we are not worshiping the right thing in their eyes. I also agree with Morgan.

Reply
Floraine Macam
9/19/2011 11:07:05 am

I agree with Alexis. The first amendment which is the freedom of press, religion, assembly, speech, and petition, at this point of my life. The freedom of speech guarantees me the right to voice my opinion and write my thoughts. Of course, there always are limitations so I also need to be careful so I do not get in trouble. Without this Right, communication would be limited. The difference between an adult and me is that the adults are responsible for their own actions; my guardians are responsible for my actions to a certain extent.

Reply
Klaus Dooley
9/19/2011 01:09:00 pm

i disagree with what Alexis said. Right now we are still considered kids in this country and the rights of religion and press we cant have anything to do about it because the adults will put us down for saying that not like kill us but you should know what i mean. I think the best one that represents us at this time is freedom of petition. An example would be to have a petition to change the lunch menu we can get away with that.

Reply
Austin Lancaster
9/20/2011 01:15:18 am

I thank that freedom of speech is the most important. So that you can tell how you feel and explain yourself, to students and teachers. I believe that everyone has the same right but that adults can say more and get away with it.

Reply
Sabrina Maruszewski
9/20/2011 05:36:32 am

I think that the first admement is the most important. I think that everyone should have their own voice and their own choice in what the beleave in. I think that adults has some more rights then children but in the end i also think that we have the same amount of right in everything.

Reply
Gabbie Brooking
9/20/2011 06:20:36 am

I also think the First Amendment is the most important because it allows me to choose which religion i want to practice,the right to free speech,and the right ot peacefully assemble wherever i choose.The adults definately have more rights than me because they are allowed to do more things,im not an "adult" until im 18,which is kind of unfair because there are things i would like to do that i cant because im not "of age".But i also get angry because we have freedom of speech but theres certain things im not allowed to talk about in school such as religion.Yes it may offend some people that dont have the same religion as me but is that really fair to me that i cant discuss it in school? And if i want to say somethin to a teacher that maybe rude ill get in trouble for it,thats not really fair either because i have the right to say what i want.No im not going ot use profanity whentalking to a a teacher but i think i have the right to be able to tell him or her how i feel.If theres a problem it needs to be fixed.

Reply
Travis Desrochers
9/20/2011 06:27:23 am

I think the most important right is Protection from unreasonable search and seizure. I think its the most important because its no ones business to go and search your house or car without permission of the owner or if the police have a warrant to do this. Some things are personal to people and dont want others to know, you have the right to do this.

Reply
Jordan Hyde
9/20/2011 06:27:44 am

I think that the most important right in the Bill of Right's is the freedom of speech because it allows me to express myself and speak freely to who ever i want and i agree with Gabbie because it allows us to talk about what we want and i think adults do have more rights than kids do because adults get to vote and kids don't

Reply
Jamie Edsell
9/20/2011 07:31:43 am

i think the one right that is most important is the right to free speech. We should be able to speak our minds but to an extent. Adults have a more of a right because most of the time they belive one another and not the kid.

Reply
Emily Kendall
9/20/2011 07:43:18 am

I agree with pretty much everyone. I think that the freedom of speech is the most important right that I have right now. I need to speak my mind in order to learn new things, and understand how various situations work. I agree with Austin Lancaster when he said that you need tell how you feel and explain yourself is ceratin situations.

Reply
Jared Powell
9/20/2011 07:56:56 am

Reply
Jared Powell
9/20/2011 08:01:16 am

The most Important right to me is freedom of speech. Because i like to have my own a opponent on things and i like to say what i think. And i agreed with emily.

Reply
Marissa Clark
9/20/2011 08:11:25 am

Everyone has good points. You should be able to say what you want when and where. But know that you can be charged with slander and probably other things. And how Dustin said right to bear arms. I think you should be able to protect yourself but not at this age. A lot of kids would get out hand I think if they was able to carry a gun or something. Unreasonable search and seizure is probably most important though to me. You have your space and when someone violates you it's probably hard to ever feel like you have anything to just yourself again.

Reply
bryce Vittitoe (2nd)
9/20/2011 08:28:44 am

I agree with marissa but i think the most important one is the 1rst one like the right to speech, i think we should beable to say what we want in reason and beable to practice our own religion.
Our rights are diffrent from adults because they get to vote and the get to drink and things like that.

Reply
Natalie Redmon
9/20/2011 08:53:38 am

The two most important rights to me right now in my life are the freedom of speech and religion. If our founding fathers in the beginning of our country wouldn't have included these, our country would be totally different. Freedom of religion is important because everyone deserves the right to believe what they want. I cannot even imagine living in a place where I can't express what I believe in. The freedom of speech is also very important. It's so important to say whats on your mind. If we lived in a country where this was impossible, I think that everyone would be going crazy.

As for who I agree with, I think Chad, Sydney, and Natalie H. had good points that I agree with. However, I don't feel like the right to bear arms is an important right to have. I just don't feel like it is necessary for everyday life.

Reply
Kiana Hesse
9/20/2011 09:52:15 am

The most important right to me in my life is freedom of speech. I agree with what most people said about having freedom of speech. As a teenager we are very opinionated and have alot on our minds that we find necessary to share. I personally like to speak my mind and I like that i have the freedom to. No one should be able to tell us that we cant express ourselves.

Reply
Dallas Allen
9/20/2011 10:17:26 am

The most important right to me personally would be right to bear arms. But i do agree with everyone about freedom of speech and religion but as an avid hunter and sportsman i think we should have the right to bear arms. And not just for hunting, also for self protection.

Reply
Ashley Carrier
9/20/2011 10:59:37 am

The most important right to me would be freedom of speech. Everyone has their own opinion about things, and I think that everyone should be able to speak their mine as long as it isn't a threat towards someone/something. I think teenagers have the same right when it comes to this as adults.
I also agree with Dallas, even though I don't hunt. But I agree with the right to bear arms so that you can protect yourself.

Reply
Patrick Herman
9/20/2011 11:32:52 am

The right that i find most important is the right to a fair trial , freedom of speech and right to bear arms. These 3 are the most important to me because everyone should have a chance to prove themselves innocent and say what we want to say , and also have guns and such for one as a hunter and for protection if we need it. All of the Bill Of Rights are important but these are the 3 that i think are most important to me. and Freedom of speech is better for adults because as teenagers most people really don't wanna listen to what we have to say but if your an adult everybody would be willing to listen to you.

Reply
Tiffany Mullins
9/20/2011 12:55:49 pm

I think that we should all take the first amendment to heart because it applies to all of us adults and students together. I agree with the people that said anything about the first amendment because to me that is the most important amendment and not because it has alot in it its just explains alot that we should have and most of the childrens and teens don't have especially in school and with their parents.

Reply
Jacob ?
9/20/2011 02:00:39 pm

I, personally, feel as if all of the amendments work together as a whole. Not one of them are more important than another to me. Without one, it would cause chaos and havoc in some such manor. Everyone before all made really good points, in my opinion. I think I legitimately agree with all of them(or the ones i have read). We have all of our laws for really good reasons; to keep us safe and fair.

Reply
Brad Sonner
9/20/2011 08:37:18 pm

I think freedom of speech is the most important because you can voice your opinion. I think adults have more rights because they can do what they want with there life.

Reply
Marisa Coronado
9/21/2011 03:06:15 am

Personally, I believe that freedom of speech is the most important. What someone has to say about something might change alot of others views, someone who is strong not to stand and say what they feel is right or wrong has enough guts to have a right.

Reply
Nathan Turner
9/21/2011 04:10:22 am

I think freedom of speech is most inportant. adults have more freedoms because they can go whereever whenever they want.

Reply
brieanna deckard
9/21/2011 04:58:29 am

I think the first amendment is the most important. Only because it has freedom of speech and freedom of religion. People should be able to say whats on their mind and say how they feel. Also people should be able too believe what they want too believe in either its god or something else. The first amendment affects everyone. Without freedom of speech people could not say what they want too say. This is a really important amendment to me!!!!!

Reply
Ashlee Hutton
9/23/2011 12:19:37 am

I think that the most important right that i have right now is the freedom of speech. I get to say what i want, when i want, and am able to critisize government figures, without facing prision time. Also, i think that adults have more rights than minors, and if not that, then their rights are more open to them.

Reply
Adam Kaiser
9/25/2011 10:43:06 pm

I think the most important right Is the Right to bear arms. The goverment cant protect all the time. THere are threats to well being all the time, like when a women gets mugged or when murders attack people. If the victim has the right to defend themselfs than the country will have less crime because people will be afraid of getting shot. I also think that this right is mainly to adults because children cannot purchase a gun/weapon untill there 18.

Reply
stephanie holt
9/26/2011 07:58:46 am

i think the most important right to me is freedom of speech&religion. its important to have these rights cause you can speak up and you dont have to keep your opinion to your self, everyone is entiled to their opinion and can say what ever is on their mind. Religion is also important to me cause you have the choice to believe what religious beliefs you want to and no one can tell you who to believe in.
i also agree with adam, you should be able to have the right to protect your self.

Reply
Nathan Popham
9/29/2011 07:07:50 am

Well i think freedom of speech is definitely the most important to me but the freedom that shows the biggest difference between minors and adults is freedom to a fair trial. Because as a minor your not responsible for your actions near as much as an adult. They work together because to have a fair trial you need to be able to say what you need with your freedom of speech.
I also agree with what Adam says about the differences in the right to bear arms between adults and minors.

Reply
Mitchell Drury 7
10/10/2011 10:02:33 am

Everyone has good points. You should be able to say what you want when and where. But know that you can be charged with slander and probably other things. And how Dustin said right to bear arms. I think you should be able to protect yourself but not at this age. A lot of kids would get out hand I think if they was able to carry a gun or something. Unreasonable search and seizure is probably most important though to me. You have your space and when someone violates you it's probably hard to ever feel like you have anything to just yourself again.

Reply
Becca Short 6th prd
10/13/2011 07:11:41 am

I honestly think the most important right to me would be amendment 6, unreasonable search and seizures. I like having my privacy in my own home. It like no one can look through my whole house without a acceptable reason. I feel like this right is took away because everybody has to be all up in your business these days. But yea I agree with most everyone about amendment one because I do like my freedom of speech. Its pretty nice to say my own opinion.:) & I think adults have more rights then us teenagers which is truly unfair.

Reply
1/26/2012 01:57:41 am

Great info, thx

Reply
1/28/2012 06:21:54 am

will return shortly

Reply
3/28/2012 03:56:12 am

Good post bro

Reply
3/31/2012 04:28:30 am

Nice one info, thx

Reply
4/19/2012 09:38:05 pm

THX for info

Reply
9/25/2012 03:00:27 am

Good article dude

Reply
9/25/2012 10:16:38 pm

THX for info

Reply



Leave a Reply.